Ep10 – Mail Order Brides

Featured

They’ve been arriving from afar for centuries, but you won’t find them on Amazon with two-day shipping. We are wrapping up season 1 with the long and sorted history of mail-order brides. Who were the first mail-order brides? What circumstances sparked this phenomenon? And how has the mail-order bride industry changed over time?

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/salacious-history/id1452081700
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/salacioushistory

Sources:

Bommersbach, Jana. “Mail-Order Brides: Rosy-Cheeked Girls Stamp out Loneliness in the West.” True West Magazine, True West Magazine, 3 Aug. 2015, truewestmagazine.com/mail-order-brides/.“Go West, Young Woman!” Smithsonian National Postal Museum, Smithsonian Institute, 2018, postalmuseum.si.edu/Mail-OrderBrides/whenandwhere.html.
Lloyd, Kathryn A. “Wives for Sale: The Modern International Mail-Order Bride Industry.” Northwestern Journal of International Law & Business, Vol. 20, No. 2, 2000, https://scholarlycommons.law.northwestern.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1512&context=njilb.
“Mail Order Brides: A History of Love in the Wild West.” Ancestral Findings, Ancestral Findings, LLC, 23 Sept. 2018, ancestralfindings.com/mail-order-brides-a-history-of-love-in-the-wild-west/.
McAndrew, Frank T. “‘Mail Order Brides’ Still Exist: Is a ‘Mail Order Marriage’ Doomed to Be a Bad Match?” Psychology Today, Sussex Publishers, 4 Nov. 2015, www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/out-the-ooze/201511/mail-order-brides-still-exist.
“A Short History of Jamestown.” National Parks Service, U.S. Department of the Interior, 2018, www.nps.gov/jame/learn/historyculture/a-short-history-of-jamestown.htm.
Simpson, Kelly. “Japanese Picture Brides: Building a Family through Photographs.” KCET, Public Media Group of Southern California, 31 July 2012, www.kcet.org/shows/departures/japanese-picture-brides-building-a-family-through-photographs.
Staff, Seattle Times. “President Signs Bill to Protect Mail-Order Brides after Washington State Cases.” The Seattle Times, The Seattle Times Company, 6 Jan. 2006, www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/president-signs-bill-to-protect-mail-order-brides-after-washington-state-cases/.
Stebbins, Sarah J. “A Short History of Jamestown.” National Parks Service, U.S. Department of the Interior, Apr. 2011, www.nps.gov/jame/learn/historyculture/a-short-history-of-jamestown.htm.
Zug, Marcia. “The Mail-Order Brides of Jamestown, Virginia.” The Atlantic, The Atlantic Monthly Group, 31 Aug. 2016, www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2016/08/the-mail-order-brides-of-jamestown-virginia/498083/.

Ep04 – Shah Jahan & Mumtaz Mahal

Featured

You guys, we’re doing our first episode covering a famous couple from history! The story of Shah Jahan and Mumtaz Mahal’s marriage falls in the gray area between historical fact and romantic legend. By all accounts, they are one of the most celebrated royal couples of the 16th century, and their love resulted in the construction of one of the most recognizable structures in history: the Taj Mahal!

Sources:

“Mumtaz Mahal.” Ohio River – New World Encyclopedia, New World Encyclopedia, 2018, www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Mumtaz_Mahal.
“Mumtaz Mahal.” Wikipedia, Wikimedia Foundation, 2 Jan. 2019, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mumtaz_Mahal.
“Shah Jahan.” Wikipedia, Wikimedia Foundation, 1 Jan. 2019, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shah_Jahan.
“Taj Mahal Architecture.” Taj Mahal, Savion Travel Services Pvt. Ltd, 2018, www.tajmahal.org.uk/architecture.html.
“Taj Mahal Facts.” Taj Mahal, Savion Travel Services Pvt. Ltd, 2018, www.tajmahal.org.uk/taj-mahal-facts.html.
“Taj Mahal Facts for Kids.” Science Kids – Fun Science & Technology for Kids!, Science Kids, 2018, www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts/engineering/tajmahal.html.
“Taj Mahal: Memorial to Love.” PBS, Public Broadcasting Service, 2018, www.pbs.org/treasuresoftheworld/a_nav/taj_nav/main_tajfrm.html.
“Taj Mahal Story.” Taj Mahal, Savion Travel Services Pvt. Ltd, www.tajmahal.org.uk/story.html.